Faculty Sponsors Engaged Living Furman University

Engaged Living allows you to explore your interests through a wide variety of interdisciplinary topics. For that, you can thank our dedicated faculty.

Our academic programs are designed and led by faculty with a special interest in a particular topic. Whether you're studying the politics of war; attempting to solve complex global problems such as healthcare, poverty, or sustainability; exploring the ethical and philosophical issues around artificial intelligence and secret codes; or searching for the purpose of your life's meaning, our faculty find creative ways to engage you in your learning community, leading you through course content, and extracurricular activities that are relevant to your area of focus. More importantly, our program allows you to connect with faculty members who share your interest. Our professors serve as mentors, ensuring you'll have a support system in place to begin your college experience.

PROGRAM DIRECTORS

Brad Harmon Furman University

Brad Harmon

Assistant Dean for the First-Year and Second-Year Experience
864.294.3066
brad.harmon@furman.edu

Teddi Walker

Associate Director of Residence Life
864.294.3036
teddi.walker.edu

FACULTY SPONSORS

Brannon Andersen Furman University

Brannon Andersen

Professor and Chair, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
864.294.3366
brannon.andersen@furman.edu
John Banisaukas Furman University

John Banisaukas

Director of Pre-Professional Advising, Chief Health Careers Advisor, and Assistant Professor of Chemistry
864.294.3042
john.banisaukas@furman.edu
Bryan Bibb Furman University

Bryan Bibb

Associate Professor of Religion
864.294.3089
bryan.bibb@furman.edu
Gretchen Braun Furman University

Gretchen Braun

Assistant Professor of English
864.294.3137
gretchen.braun@furman.edu
Erik Ching Furman University

Erik Ching

Director of Undergraduate Research and Professor of History
864.294.2119
erik.ching@furman.edu
Matthew Cohen Furman University

Matthew Cohen

Assistant Professor of Sustainability Science
864.294.2505
matthew.cohen@furman.edu
Susan D'Amato Furman University

Susan D'Amato

Administrative Director of the Cothran Center for Vocational Reflection and Professor of Physics
864.294.3604
susan.damato@furman.edu
Weston Dripps Furman University

Weston Dripps

Executive Director of Shi Center for Sustainability and Associate Professor, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
864.294.3392
weston.dripps@furman.edu
Linnea Freeman Furman University

Linnea Freeman

Assistant Professor of Biology/Neuroscience
864.294.3084
linnea.freeman@furman.edu
David Gandolfo Furman University

David Gandolfo

Associate Professor of Philosophy and Chair of Poverty Studies Minor
864.294.3238
david.gandolfo@furman.edu
Chris Healy Furman University

Chris Healy

Associate Professor of Computer Science
864.294.2233
chris.healy@furman.edu
Kristy Maher Furman University

Kristy Maher

Professor of Sociology
864.294.3302
kristy.maher@furman.edu
Bill Ranson Furman University

Bill Ranson

Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences
864.294.3364
bill.ranson@furman.edu
Elizabeth Smith Furman University

Elizabeth Smith

Professor and Chair, Department of Political Science
864.294.3674
liz.smith@furman.edu
Benjamin Storey Furman University

Benjamin Storey

Associate Professor of Political Science
864.294.3574
benjamin.storey@furman.edu
Andrea Tartaro Furman University

Andrea Tartaro

Associate Professor of Computer Science
864.294.2932
andrea.tartaro@furman.edu
Kevin Treu Furman University

Kevin Treu

Professor and Chair, Department of Computer Science
864.294.3220
kevin.treu@furman.edu
Victoria Turgeon Furman University

Victoria Turgeon

Professor of Biology and Chair of Neuroscience
864.294.3791
victoria.turgeon@furman.edu

STAFF SPONSORS

Eric Cain Furman University

Eric Cain

Program Director of the Cothran Center for Vocational Reflection
864.294.2511
eric.cain@furman.edu

Connect with Admission

Furman is one of the nation's premier liberal arts and sciences universities. We offer our students The Furman Advantage—an over-arching approach to education that promises every student a four-year personalized pathway, a team of advisors and mentors, and the opportunity for an engaged learning experience that is tracked and integrated with the students' academic and professional goals.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • Furman University