Meet Our Faculty Psychology Furman University

Our dedicated faculty members are award winning teachers and mentors who are united by our commitment to undergraduate education. With 10 full-time faculty members and about 30 graduating majors per year, the department is small enough to offer students close, personal interaction with professors.

We aspire to excellence in the classroom. Three of our 10 full-time faculty members have received Furman’s Meritorious Teaching Award, two have received Furman’s Meritorious Advising Award, and one has received the American Psychological Foundation Award for Distinguished Teaching in Psychology. In fact, the American Psychological Association’s Distinguished Teaching of Psychology Award was re-named after our very own, Charles L. Brewer!

We also aspire to excellence in our scholarship. Our faculty members regularly publish and present their work, are members of editorial boards for top journals in their respective fields, and have held executive positions within organizations in their disciplines. As teacher-scholars, we are committed to involving students in the high quality research that we conduct on Furman’s campus.

John Batson Furman University

John Batson

Professor
864.294.3213
john.batson@furman.edu
Kerstin Blomquist Furman University

Kerstin Blomquist

Assistant Professor, Clinical Psychology
864.294.3215
kerstin.blomquist@furman.edu
Charles Brewer Furman University

Charles Brewer

Emeritus Professor of Psychology
864.294.3216
charles.brewer@furman.edu
Giles Einstein Furman University

Gilles Einstein

William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Psychology
864.294.3214
gil.einstein@furman.edu
Erin Hahn Furman University

Erin Hahn

Associate Professor, Director of Furman Learning Lab
864.294.3210
erin.hahn@furman.edu
Michelle Horhota Furman University

Michelle Horhota

Associate Professor
864.294.3167
michelle.horhota@furman.edu
Beth Pontari Furman University

Beth Pontari

Associate Professor, Department Chair
864.294.2149
beth.pontari@furman.edu
Onarae Rice Furman University

Onarae Rice

Associate Professor, Neuroscience Program
864.294.2382
onarae.rice@furman.edu
Cinnamon Stetler Furman University

Cinnamon Stetler

Associate Professor
864.294.3514
cinnamon.stetler@furman.edu
Erin Wamsley Furman University

Erin Wamsley

Assistant Professor
864.294.3218
erin.wamsley@furman.edu

Connect with Admission

Furman University is one of the nation's premier undergraduate liberal arts colleges. We offer outstanding academics, opportunities for a broad range of talented students with a passion for learning, a robust arts program, and NCAA Division I athletics.

Want more information about the admission process at Furman?

Contact us

Once you see our campus, making the right college decision will be so much easier.

Plan a visit

Undergraduate Evening Studies provides adults the opportunity to receive an education from one of the premier liberal arts universities in the nation.

Whether you are starting or continuing your education, or have been away from the classroom for a few months or several years, our program provides many services to assist you with accomplishing your educational and professional goals.

Apply now

Our graduate studies program is designed for the professional educator.

We know the challenges teachers and administrators face every day, and we are committed to helping you become a leader within your school system or district.

Apply now
  • 50th Anniversary of Desegregation at Furman
  • Furman University